Just Because It’s Wine…Doesn’t Mean It’s Vegan!

It’s made of grapes right?! It MUST be vegan! Nope! Not all wine’s are vegan actually. I hate to tell you why.

Wine can be filtered through fish bladders. Ewwww. I know! Imagine if you have a fish allergy! AH!

This filtering process is used to remove protein, yeast, cloudiness, “off” flavors and colorings, and other organic particles. Popular animal-derived fining agents used in the production of wine include blood and bone marrow, casein (milk protein), chitin (fiber from crustacean shells), egg albumen (derived from egg whites), fish oil, gelatin (protein from boiling animal parts), and isinglass (gelatin from fish bladder membranes).

I bet you’re glad to know all that next time you pop a cork, it’s not just grapes. It’s now grapes, fish, milk, and eggs.

wine is not vegan

Peta.org says that there are several other filters that are animal-friendly and used to make vegan wine. Carbon, bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, and vegetable plaques are all great alternatives.

The good thing about the clay is that it’s safe for people with wheat or gluten allergies, celiac disease, and lactose intolerance.

A long list of vegan wines (and beer & liquor) is available at Barnivore.com

As of now, there are no laws mandating that a wine label has to advertise what kind of fining agents were used in the bottle. Until then, just ask your local wine/beer store for help finding vegan friendly wines. Or order online at The Vegan Vine.

If you are looking for gluten free, vegan and sulfate free wine, try Frey Wine!